Game Classification

Dragon Ball: Raging Blast Spike Co., Namco Bandai Games America Inc. (U.S.A.), 2009  

Informations Analyses Serious Gaming





Besides play, this title features the following intents:
  • Licensed title


This title is used by the following domains:
  • Entertainment


This title targets the following audience:
Age : 12 to 16 years old / 17 to 25 years old
General Public


The gameplay of this title is Game-based
(designed with stated goals)

The core of gameplay is defined by the rules below:

Similar games

Dragon Ball: Raging Blast is a fighting game based on the Dragon Ball franchise. The game follows events seen in the Dragon Ball Z anime, and not the original Dragon Ball as the title suggests. There are a total of 43 characters in the game but when transformation such as Super Saiyan and Fusions come in to play that total rises to 120+. All the favorite characters such as Goku, Vegeta, Trunks, and Frieza are playable, along with what-if characters such as Super Saiyan 3 Broly and Super Saiyan 3 Vegeta.

The game includes a bunch of different modes to keep the re-playability of the game high. The games main story mode is called Dragon Battle Collection. That is where you can relive many of the famous and important battles seen in the anime. DBC is split up into 7 different story chapters each relating to a different saga of the anime. The story mode sagas are:Saiyan SagaFrieza SagaBardock SagaAndroids SagaMajin Buu SagaLegendary Super Saiyan SagaWhat-if StoriesIn addition to the Story mode, the player may head over to Versus mode to battle with friends or to the World Tournament. Versus mode sees the player in a single battle or team battle against a friend or the CPU. The player can choose any of the characters that has already unlocked to fight with. The World Tournament has the player choosing a character and trying to advance by winning each round. Winning the whole thing will unlock items to use or new moves for a fighter. There is also an online play mode where you can fight against other DBZ fans from around the world. The player can play in ranked matched to improve W/L or participate in a custom World Tournament with others. Last but not least is the Super Battle Trial mode where the player plays in ranked battles with various different rules. Included in their are things such as Arcade fights, Survival, Time Attack, and Score Attack.

The main gameplay is a standard one-on-one fight between opponents. Each fighter has there own set of skills and moves that they can use. The main objective is to lower opponent's health all the way before they do it to the player. Many moves and abilities need a certain amount of Ki to be used. Stronger moves are called Super Attacks and waste a good amount of Ki when used. Each character has their own unique Ultimate Attack which can only be used when th Ki meter is completely charged and is blue. Certain fighters such as Saiyans like Goku or Vegeta can transform into more powerful beings by utilizing in-game transformations.

In the Museum mode, players can view the character encyclopedia to look at background information on every character. They can also view replays that they have saved or listen to music and conversations that have occurred between in-game characters. [source:mobygames]

Distribution : Retail - Commercial
Platform(s) : Playstation 3 (PS3) - Xbox 360 (X360)