Game Classification

Who's That Flying?! Mediatonic Ltd, Mediatonic Ltd, 2010  

Informations Analyses Serious Gaming





This title is used by the following domains:
  • Entertainment


This title targets the following audience:
Age : 12 to 16 years old / 17 to 25 years old
General Public


The gameplay of this title is Game-based
(designed with stated goals)

The core of gameplay is defined by the rules below:

Similar games

Who's That Flying?! Who's That Flying?! is a side-scrolling shooter where the player controls a flying character, the Guardian of Earth. He is put on trial at the Galactic Council for allowing hordes of doom beasts to rampage through Earth's cities. The council consists of all the guardians of the other planets and is led by Jupiter's. To prove his innocence, he needs to recounts his version of the events, how he battled the monsters, to gather evidence. The player has to play each memory of the invasion as a series of levels to prove you, as a guardian, did sufficient effort to stop it.

The Guardian of Earth flies at a constant speed and can be moved to any part of the screen. His left arm is replaced with a basic laser with unlimited bullets to take out enemies. Different waves of enemies appear from the right side of the screen. The Guardian is actually completely invincible and he cannot die or lose health. To finish a level he has to prevent the basic black monsters called Ravagers from passing by so they don't leave through the left side of the screen. Per level only fifty Ravagers can pass or the game is over. These black creatures are very easy to take down and do not even fire, but they come in large hordes and need to be taken out quickly. Next to his basic attack the Guardian can also hover over them to grab them and rip them apart.

There are many more powerful creatures as well and those do attack. They largely serve to prevent the Guardian from taking out the black creatures. They move in front of them to absorb the fire, and their bullets and attacks can temporarily stun the character or move him away. Many large monsters often need to be weakened before the Guardian can grab them and perform a quick sequence of buttons to take them out with a powerful attack, similar to a quick-time event. Large enemies do not necessarily need to be destroyed and are allowed to leave the screen without any repercussions. At the end of the level there is always a giant boss. If the Guardian holds off multiple waves of enemies in succession, a power bar in the bottom left side of the screen is built up. It consists of three levels and for reaching each level a powerful attack can be executed, such as a faster firing rate or a giant laser beam. As soon as a Ravager manages to escape, the bar is reset.

Next to the main Story Mode with four settings to unlock, there is an Infinite Mode and a Challenge Mode. [source:mobygames]

Distribution : Retail - Commercial
Platform(s) : iPhone / iPod Touch - Playstation 3 (PS3) - PlayStation Portable (PSP) - PC (Windows)