Game Classification

Age of Conan: Rise of the Godslayer Funcom Oslo A/S, Deep Silver (United Kingdom), 2010  

Informations Analyses Serious Gaming





Besides play, this title features the following intents:
  • Licensed title


This title is used by the following domains:
  • Entertainment


This title targets the following audience:
Age : 12 to 16 years old / 17 to 25 years old
General Public


The gameplay of this title is Game-based
(designed with stated goals)

The core of gameplay is defined by the rules below:

Similar games

Age of Conan: Rise of the Godslayer is the first expansion to Age of Conan: Hyborian Adventures and adds the Empire of Khitai to the game world - which has sunk into chaos. The Hyrkanians, successfully kept behind the Great Wall for thousands of years, are spilling across the Northern Grasslands and slaughtering everything in their path. At the same time, behind the scenes sorcerers, while playing their games of power, have transformed the desert Kara Korum into a habitat for alien creatures, bizarre and twisted forms of life with human voices but demonic fury.

With the introduction of Khitai five new zones become available to both level 80 and level 20-40 players, ten new factions enter the scene and hundreds of new quests are waiting to be solved in exchange for experience points and all-new equipment including two new mounts: the tiger and the wolf. These mounts are special in that they start out as small companions and need to be trained and raised before they become ride-able. Until then, they fight with the player in his battles. Khitai is also the home of the Khitans, the new player-race who can either become a Guardian, a Dark Templar, a Bear Shaman, an Assassin, a Ranger, a Demonologist, a Herald of Xotli or a Necromancer.

The last main addition is the Alternate Advancement System. Instead of increasing the current level cap, the players are given a more in-depth and customizable way of progression. The Alternate Advancement System includes three new character trees and dozens of new abilities that contain five ranks for all classes of the game. While the General tree is already accessible at level 20, the Archetype and Class trees won't unlock before level 80. In order to get points to advance in the System, the player needs to earn Alternate Advancement Points. These are earned through the normal PvE or PvP experience by killing mobs and other players, completing quests or even by finding special items. By doing those tasks, the Mastery (PvE) and Prowess (PvP) bar respectively fill up, granting the player either three mastery or prowess points once the corresponding bar is filled up as well as one expertise point. All of these points can then be used to buy the Feats and Perks associated inside the new character trees. Only available at level 80: a training mode which also the player to unlock Feats and Perks over time without spending any points. [source:mobygames]

Distribution : Retail - Commercial
Platform(s) : PC (Windows)